Women’s empowerment during the COVID19 recovery

مشروع "سنتر ستيج - Centre Stage" | الخلفية

للسياحة القدرة على المساهمة في تحقيق الهدف 5 من أهداف التنمية المستدامة للأمم المتحدة - تحقيق المساواة بين الجنسين وتمكين جميع النساء والفتيات.

يستند مشروع "سنتر ستيج - Centre Stage"  في أنشطته إلى خطة عمل التقرير العالمي حول المرأة في السياحة، الإصدار الثاني، والذي يركز على ستة مجالات رئيسية ذات أهمية استراتيجية لتمكين المرأة في قطاع السياحة: التوظيف؛ ريادة الأعمال التعليم والتدريب؛ القيادة والسياسة وصنع القرار؛ المجتمع المحلي؛ والمجتمع المدني.
يرى المشروع أن منظمة السياحة العالمية تدعم البلدان لتنفيذ توصيات التقرير، والجمع بين القطاع العام والشركات السياحية والمنظمات السياحية المختلفة والمنظمات غير الحكومية في كل بلد، لاستخدام التعافي من وباء كوفيد-19 لتوفير الفرص لتمكين المرأة من خلال السياحة.
في البداية، بالتعاون مع المؤسسة الألمانية للتعاون الدولي، والوزارة الاتحادية للتعاون الاقتصادي والتنمية في ألمانيا، ومع هيئة الأمم المتحدة للمرأة، يتم اختبار المشروع في أربعة دول أعضاء في منظمة السياحة العالمية:

الأهداف

  1. تسهيل وصول المرأة إلى القوى العاملة السياحية
  2. تكوين ثقافة مؤسسية تعزز دور المرأة في السياحة
  3. توفير الظروف اللازمة على المستوى المؤسسي لتسهيل التحليل الجنساني في تنمية السياحة.

  1. تشجيع بيئة الأعمال التي تركز على المرأة وتقودها المرأ
  2. معالجة الأبعاد الجنسانية للعمل غير النظامي في السياحة
  3. التوصل إلى تنسيق إقليمي في السياحة والمساواة بين الجنسين
  4. تشجيع القيادة وتبادل المعرفة فيما يتعلق بالإنتاج السياحي
  5. النظر في محور الهجرة في السياحة
  6. معالجة محور: المياه والجنس والسياحة

  1. تعزيز ريادة الأعمال السياحية من حيث الجنس
  2. تعزيز تنويع السياحة وتوزيعها بما يكون له أثر إيجابي على المرأة
  3. معالجة محور العنف ضد المرأة والسياحة
  4. معالجة الأبعاد الجنسانية للعمل غير النظامي في قطاع السياحة

  1. تعزيز السياسات السياحية على أساس المعايير التي تتناول التمكين الاقتصادي للمرأة
  2. التصدي للعنف ضد المرأة في السياحة
  3. معالجة الأبعاد الجنسانية في العمل السياحي غير الرسمي

السياق

نسبة مشاركة المرأة في القوى العاملة السياحية في الأردن هي واحدة من أقل النسب في العالم، حيث تتركز غالبية النساء العاملات في قطاع الخدمات. وتعتبر السياحة قطاعًا استراتيجيًا للأردن، لكن مشاركة المرأة في السياحة منخفضة، حيث يصنف الأردن ضمن أدنى 5 مراتب في منطقة الشرق الأوسط من حيث قلة عدد النساء العاملات في مجال السياحة.
- المناظير والتصورات السائدة هي بعض العوائق الرئيسية التي تمنع مشاركة المرأة في السياحة في الأردن، على سبيل المثال:
- المرأة هي التي تقدم الرعاية الأولية للأسر؛
- المتزوجات لا يعملن مثل نظرائهن من الرجال؛
- في الفنادق، قد تؤدي الترقيات الوظيفية إلى التنقل إلى سلسلة فنادق أخرى أو في الخارج، وبالتالي لا تستطيع النساء المتزوجات الانتقال.
في أعقاب وباء كوفيد-19، تم الإبلاغ عن تحسن طفيف وزيادة في القوى العاملة النسائية في قطاع الإقامة والخدمات الغذائية. ووفقًا لبيانات وزارة السياحة والآثار، في تشرين الأول/أكتوبر 2021، بلغت مشاركة المرأة في الأنشطة المسجلة 10%. وتقدر منظمة العمل الدولية أن النساء في الأردن كن يشكلن قبل الوباء 3,27 % من القوى العاملة في قطاع الإقامة والخدمات الغذائية. هذا، ومشاركة المرأة في الأنشطة السياحية الأخرى متدنية للغاية، وهو وضع يحول دون التنويع والابتكار والتنمية المستدامة للسياحة.

في كوستاريكا، مثل العديد من دول العالم، يعمل عدد كبير من النساء في القطاعات الاقتصادية المتعلقة بالتوظيف السياحي مثل: الحرف اليدوية، وفن الطبخ، والتشغيل، والإرشاد السياحي، والإقامة، وغيرها من الخدمات ذات الصلة، فضلاً عن غيرها من الخدمات التي لها علاقة غير مباشرة بالسياحة، بفضل ما لهذا القطاع من قدرة كبيرة على إقامة روابط منتجة مع الآخرين، وبشكل شبه طبيعي.
وفقًا لمنظمة العمل الدولية، لا تزال نسبة العاملات في السياحة في كوستاريكا بعد وباء كوفيد-19مرتفعة (62% من إجمالي القوة العاملة)، علما أن نسبة أعلى من الرجال فقدوا وظائفهم (-23,7%) مقارنة بالنساء ( -19,3%). ومع ذلك، فقد تسبب الوباء في زيادة عدم المساواة بين الجنسين في مجالات التعليم والتوظيف والعنف القائم على أساس الجنس وصحة المرأة. هذه الانتكاسة فيما يتعلق بالمساواة بين الجنسين لا تؤثر فقط على السياحة، بل أيضًا بشكل كبير على التنمية المستدامة للقطاعات الأخرى وتزيد من التحديات التي كانت تواجه المرأة في السياحة في كوستاريكا سابقا.

قبل وباء كوفيد-19، كانت النساء تمثلن 57,25٪ من العاملين في قطاع الإقامة والخدمات الغذائية في الجمهورية الدومينيكية، وفقًا لإحصاءات منظمة العمل الدولية. ومع ذلك، فإن هذه النسبة، رغم أنها أعلى من المتوسط العالمي، تشمل عددًا كبيرًا من النساء العاملات في أعمال متدنية المهارة ومنخفضة الأجر مع فرص قليلة للتقدم الوظيفي.
على وجه الخصوص، تشغل النساء العاملات في السياحة في الجمهورية الدومينيكية في كثير من الأحيان وظائف مرتبطة بالعمل المنزلي وأعمال الرعاية. بينما يتم توزيع الرجال، من ناحية أخرى، عبر مجموعة واسعة من المهن السياحية مع المزيد من الاحتمالات للتقدم الوظيفي. ومع ذلك، بغض النظر عن نوع العمل الذي تؤديه المرأة، فإن أولوية مشروع "سنتر ستيج - Centre Stage"  هي ضمان أن توفر العمالة السياحية ظروف عمل لائقة للمرأة، وفرصًا للارتقاء في الهرم المهني والوصول إلى مجالات صنع القرار في مكان العمل.

تعمل نسبة عالية من النساء في السياحة في المكسيك (52% وفقا لإحصاءات منظمة العمل الدولية). وتعمل النساء في الغالب في مجال السياحة كرائدات أعمال (71% مقابل 28% رجال وفقًا لإحصاءات منظمة العمل الدولية). وتعمل نسبة كبيرة منهن كعاملات في الأسرة (73% مقابل 26% للرجال وفقًا لإحصاءات منظمة العمل الدولية). وتواجه الغالبية العظمى من النساء عوائق كبيرة مثل الوصول إلى الموارد المالية والتكنولوجيا، والعمل غير الرسمي، وبيئات العمل غير الآمنة، والعنف القائم على الجنس. وتقلل هذه الحواجز من احتمالات تقدم المرأة في سلسلة القيم السياحية. وتعتبر معالجة فجوة الأجور بين الجنسين (37% في المتوسط، حيث تؤخذ في الحسبان أكبر وجهات السفر الرئيسية) وكذلك مكافحة الاعتداء الجنسي والتحرش الجنسي في مكان العمل، تعتبر من العوامل الرئيسية لتمكين المرأة في المكسيك. وإن حوالي 84% من الشركات في جميع أنحاء البلاد لديها سياسة عدم التسامح إطلاقا بشأن التمييز، لكن القليل منها فقط مرتبط بالسياحة ويقوم بتطبيق آليات تعزز على وجه التحديد تمكين المرأة والمساواة بين الجنسين.

German Cooperation
GIZ
UN Women

Related Links

 
Twitter UNWTO
Instagram UNWTO
YouTube UNWTO
Facebook UNWTO
LinkedIn UNWTO
Flicker UNWTO

Women’s empowerment during the COVID19 recovery

Centre Stage Project | Background

Tourism has the potential to contribute towards the UN Sustainable Development Goal 5 – Achieving Gender Equality and Empowering all Women and Girls.

5. Gender equality

The Centre Stage Project bases its activities on the Action Plan of the Global Report on Women in Tourism, Second Edition, which focuses into six main areas of strategic importance for women’s empowerment within the tourism sector: Employment; Entrepreneurship; Education and training; Leadership, policy and decision-making and Community and civil society.

The project sees UNWTO support countries to implement the recommendations of the report, bringing together the public sector, tourism businesses and different tourism organizations and NGO’s in each country, to use the recovery from the COVID-19 pandemic to provide opportunities for women’s empowerment through tourism.

Initially, in collaboration with GIZ, BMZ and UN Women the project is being piloted in 4 UNWTO Member States:

OBJECTIVES

  1. Facilitate women's access to tourism workforce;
  2. Create an institutional culture that promotes the role of women in tourism;
  3. Provide the necessary conditions at the institutional level to facilitate gender analysis in tourism development.

  1. To encourage a business environment focused and led by women;
  2. Address the gender dimensions of informal employment in Tourism;
  3. Articulate a territorial coordination in tourism and gender;
  4. Encourage leadership and knowledge exchange regarding tourism production;
  5. Consider the migratory axis in tourism;
  6. Address the axis: water, gender and tourism.

  1. To promote tourism entrepreneurship in terms of gender;
  2. Strengthen the diversification and distribution of tourism with a positive effect on women;
  3. Address the axis of violence against women and tourism;
  4. Address the gender dimensions of informal work in the tourism sector.

  1. To strengthen tourism policy based on standards that address the economic empowerment of women;
  2. To address violence against women in Tourism;
  3. To address the gender dimensions of informal tourism work.

CONTEXT

Jordan has one of the lowest percentages of female labor force participation in the world, with a majority of working women concentrated in the service sector. Tourism is a strategic sector for Jordan, however women's participation in Tourism is low with Jordan ranking within the lowest 5 of the Middle East Region with the fewest female tourism workers. 

Prevailing views and perceptions are some of the main barriers that prohibit women's participation in tourism in Jordan such as:

- Women are the primary care-givers for families;

- Married women do not work as well as their male counterparts;

- In hotels, job promotions could mean mobility to another hotel chain or abroad, therefore, married women could not move.

Following the COVID-19 pandemic, a slight improvement and increase of the women workforce has been reported in the accommodation and food service sector. According to data from the Ministry of Tourism and Antiquities, in October 2021 women's participation in registered activities accounts for 10%. The International Labor Organization estimates that in Jordan, prior to the COVID-19 pandemic, women accounted for 3.27% of the workforce in the accommodation and food service sector. Across other tourism activities there is a minimal participation of women, a situation that prohibits the diversification, innovation and sustainable development of tourism.

In Costa Rica, as many countries in the world, a large number of women work in economic sectors related to tourism employment such as: crafts, gastronomy, operation and tour guide, lodging and other related services, as well as others that indirectly are related to tourism thanks to the great capacity that this sector has to generate productive linkages with others, almost naturally. 

According to the International Labor Organization, the percentage of female tourism workers in Costa Rica following the COVID-19 pandemic remains high (62% of the total workforce) and a higher percentage of men have lost their jobs (-23.7%) than women (-19.3%). However, the pandemic has caused gender inequalities to increase in the areas of education, employment, gender-based violence and women's health. This setback in terms of gender equality not only affects tourism but also it strongly impacts the sustainable development of other sectors and accentuates the challenges that previously existed for women in tourism in Costa Rica.

Prior to the COVID-19 pandemic, women represented 57.25% of those employed in the accommodation and food service sector in the Dominican Republic, according to ILOSTAT. This percentage however, while above the global average, includes a large amount of women working in low-skilled, low-paid work with few opportunities for career advancement.

In particular, women tourism workers in the Dominican Republic are often engaged in employment linked to domestic and care work. While men, on the other hand, are distributed across a wider range of tourism occupations with more possibilities for career advancement. Regardless of the type of work performed by women however, the priority of the Centre Stage project is to ensure that tourism employment provides them with decent working conditions, opportunities to rise in the occupational pyramid and to access decision-making spheres in the workplace.

A high proportion of women are working in tourism in Mexico (52% according to ILOSTAT). Women are mostly engaged with tourism as entrepreneurs (71% versus 28% men according to ILOSTAT) and a large proportion of them are working as family workers (73% versus 26% men according to the findings of ILOSTAT). The vast majority of women face significant barriers such as access to financial resources and technology, informal employment, unsafe working environments and gender-based violence. These barriers reduce the possibilities for women to advance within the tourism value chain. Addressing the gender pay gap (37% on average, taking into account the main top travel destinations) as well as the prevention of sexual abuse and sexual harassment in the workplace are considered key factors for women's empowerment in Mexico. Around 84% of businesses across the country have a zero-tolerance discrimination policy, but only a few are linked to tourism and are implementing mechanisms that specifically promote women's empowerment and gender equality.

German Cooperation
GIZ
UN Women

Related Links

 
Twitter UNWTO
Instagram UNWTO
YouTube UNWTO
Facebook UNWTO
LinkedIn UNWTO
Flicker UNWTO