Regional Commissions

Regional Commissions

UNWTO has six regional commissions-Africa, the Americas, East Asia and the Pacific, Europe, the Middle East and South Asia. The commissions meet at least once a year and are composed of all the Full Members and Associate Members from that region. Affiliate Members from the region participate as observers.

Established in 1975 as subsidiary organs of the General Assembly, the six Regional Commissions normally meet once a year. They enable member States to maintain contact with one another and with the Secretariat between sessions of the General Assembly, to which they submit their proposals and convey their concerns. Each Commission elects one Chairman and its Vice-Chairmen from among its Members for a term of two years commencing from one session to the next session of the Assembly.

Officers (2023-2025)

UNWTO Commission for Africa (CAF)

Chair: Mauritius
Vice-Chairs: Nigeria, Kenya 

UNWTO Commission for the Americas (CAM)

Chair: Dominican Republic
Vice-Chairs: Argentina, Paraguay

UNWTO Commission for East Asia and the Pacific (CAP)

Chair: Philippines
Vice-Chairs: Japan, Papua New Guinea

UNWTO Commission for Europe (CEU)

Chair: Ukraine
Vice-Chairs: Greece, Hungary

UNWTO Commission for Middle East (CME)

Chair: Jordan
Vice-Chairs: Egypt, Kuwait

UNWTO Commission for South Asia (CSA)

Chair: Maldives
Vice-Chairs: Sri Lanka, India

UNWTO Regional Commissions - PDF