2013 UNWTO Awards (10th)



The tenth edition of the UNWTO Awards was held in the framework of FITUR, Spain’s premier tourism trade fair. Co-hosted by FITUR- IFEMA, the Awards Ceremony gathered global media coverage and more than 250 tourism industry representatives and tourism officials from more than 50 countries.

This year the UNWTO was honoured to give the UNWTO Ulysses Prize for Creation and Dissemination of Knowledge to Dr.Tej Vir Singh and the UNWTO Award for Lifetime Achievement to Mr. Richard Quest.

2013 UNWTO Ulysses Awards winners are as follows:

For Innovation in Public Policy and Governance:

Responsible Tourism Project at Kumarakom, Department of Tourism, Government of Kerala, India

Runners up:
Interactive System of Tourist Information, Office of the Marshal of the Pomorskie Voivodeship, Poland
Kwita Izina, Rwanda Development Board, Rwanda


For Innovation in Enterprises:

Arromanches 1944, Biplan, France

Runners up:
International Quality Brand for Hospitality for All, Village for All, Italy
Hotel ICON Ltd, ICON Hotel, Hong Kong SAR, China
Talasoplaya Spa Project, Fundación Aqua Maris y Summum Design Global Projects, Spain

For Innovation in Non-Governmental Organizations:

From Charity to Social Entrepreneurship, Borneo Ecotourism Solutions and Technologies Society, Malaysia
Runners up:

Alqueva Dark Sky Programme, Genuineland – Village Tourism & Alentejo Network of Village Tourism, Portugal
Big Blog Exchange: Changing the World Using the Power of Blogs, Hostelling International, International Youth Hostel Federation, United Kingdom

For Innovation in Research and Technology

3D AR Virtual Portal – Juraj Dalmatinac, DSP Studio & Momentum Studio, Croatia

Runners up:
Smart Tourism Guide, Korea Tourism Organization, Republic of Korea
V4AInside, Village for All srl, Italy


Relevant Links:
Forum Photos  - Ceremony Photos  -  Videos


Category tags