12th UNWTO Awards

12th UNWTO Awards


Since 2003, the UNWTO Awards celebrate excellence and innovation in the tourism sector, recognizing exceptional leaders in the categories of Creation and Dissemination of Knowledge and Lifetime Achievement, as well as outstanding projects in the categories of Public Policy and Governance, Research and Technology, Enterprises and Non-governmental Organizations. Since their inception in 2003, the UNWTO Awards have recognised more than seventy institutions for their innovative tourism initiatives. The contribution of the awardees is in line with UNWTO´s policies, priorities and programme of work, including the UNWTO Global Code of Ethics for Tourism.

For the third consecutive time, the UNWTO Awards was celebrated in collaboration with Madrid International Tourism Trade Fair (FITUR / IFEMA) on 20 January 2016.


Useful links:

12th UNWTO Awards awardees
Photos and video 
Press release: Sustainable tourism initiatives recognized by the UNWTO Awards
Download the 12th UNWTO Awards Ceremony brochure


With the support of:



With the collaboration of: 







Category tags