Nominations open for UNWTO Ulysses Awards

Nominations are officially open for the 2011 UNWTO Ulysses Awards. The Awards seek to recognize highly innovative tourism projects which have contributed to tourism policy, governance, and other areas, such as the environment, socio-economic development and new technologies.

The UNWTO Ulysses Awards reward initiatives and projects undertaken by public tourism institutions, tourism enterprises and non-profit institutions that have made a significant contribution to the advancement of tourism through innovation, in line with the United Nations Millennium Development Goals. The UNWTO Ulysses Awards are aligned with the objectives of the UNWTO Knowledge Network, a worldwide community of innovation supporting knowledge management initiatives in tourism.

UNWTO confers three awards for each of the following categories:

• UNWTO Ulysses Award for Innovation in Governance
• UNWTO Ulysses Award for Innovation in Enterprises
• UNWTO Ulysses Award for Innovation in Non-Governmental Organizations

The winners will be selected by an international jury of tourism experts and will be awarded during the UNWTO Ulysses Awards Ceremony, to be celebrated in Madrid, Spain, on 31 May 2011.

Nominations will be accepted until 31 March 2011

Previous winners include:

The Ministry of Sports and Tourism of Thailand, the General Commission for Tourism and Antiquities (Saudi Arabia), the Costa Rica Institute for Tourism, the Blackstone Valley Tourism Council (USA), Tourism Kwazulu Natal (South Africa), the Ministry of Tourism of Brazil, SEGITTUR (Spain), Tourism Portugal, the Slovenian Tourism Board and Valencia Tourism (Spain) in the category of public tourism institutions.

Riu Hotels and Resorts (Cape Verde), Intelligent Leisure Solutions and Discover Travel Group (Brazil), JSC Gero Serviso Garantija (Lithuania), ACCOR, Modul University Vienna (Austria) and the Catalan Association of Travel Agencies (Spain) in the category of enterprises.

BIRD - Biodiversity Research and Development Center (Nepal), the Business Foundation European Community Chile (Chile), the Dinastía Vivanco Foundation (Spain), the European Network of Tourism Villages, Québec Tourism Industry Corporation (Canada), the Foundation of the Spanish Railroads (Spain) and The Travel Foundation (UK) in the category of non-governmental organizations.

Please address your application to:

Eduardo Fayos-Solà
UNWTO Knowledge Network

Relevant links:

UNWTO Ulysses Prize and Awards